Gluten Free Alcohol

I get a lot of questions about being gluten-free and which alcohols are OK to consume, and so wanted to put together this guide. A few words first…

The National Institute of Health?s Celiac awareness campaign, the Canadian celiac center, the celiac center at Columbia Presbyterian and celiac.com maintains that distillation of alcohol removes the gluten molecule and yields it gluten free.

However, for people with overt Celiac disease and/or those who have been recently diagnosed or who are exquisitely sensitive, I do not recommend that they have liquor that has been made with wheat, barley or rye. There have actually been no studies to confirm or deny that people with Celiac can safely consume these alcohols. The Celiac Sprue Association also maintains this position.

For people in this category, it is best to stick to potato-based vodkas (I?ve listed them below), rum, tequila, wine, gluten-free beer, mead, hard cider, champagne and brandy. I have highlighted the best, safest boozes for those people.

Vodkas (Smirnoff, Tito?s, Blue Ice, Ciroc, Chopan)

Brandy

Bourbon

Champagne

Cognac

Gin

Gluten-Free Beer

Grappa

Hard Cider

Mead

Rum

Sake

Scotch

Sherry

Tequila

Vermouth

Whiskey

Wine

You can tell me about your gluten free booze escapades on Instagram & Twitter 😉

Tags: ,

Facebook Comments: